National Enterprise Educator Awards – 2017 winners announced

NCEE and EEUK are delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 National Enterprise Educator Awards, celebrating the UK’s top enterprise and entrepreneurship educators. The award ceremony was held at one of Glasgow’s top arts and entertainment venues, Òran Mór during the Gala Dinner for the 12th International Entrepreneurship Educators Conference, hosted by Glasgow Caledonian University.

The National Enterprise Educator Awards recognise excellence within enterprise and entrepreneurship education in UK higher and further education. The Awards reward and celebrate those who have demonstrated an exceptional and inspirational commitment to supporting student and graduate entrepreneurship.

FE Team Enterprise Award

The first award of the evening, the FE Team Enterprise award, sponsored by Cobweb Information, was presented to Christine Evans, Penny Matthews and Lisa McMullan representing a team from Grŵp Llandrillo Menai for developing a new approach and curriculum for student enterprise and entrepreneurship for Vocational Education in Thailand. Highly commended in the FE Team Enterprise category were Leeds City College for their Enterprise Festival and the Enterprise Team at Barnsley College.

HE Team Enterprise Award

The second winner was the Entrepreneurship Institute, King’s College London for their entry in the HE Team Enterprise category, sponsored by Simply Do Ideas. Edward Halliday and Hemali Patel collected the Award on behalf of the team from King’s College London. The Entrepreneurship Institute has had a four-fold growth and increase in its impact over the last 12 months. It has grown a thriving community of 10,000 students, staff, alumni and supporters whose futures have been enhanced through the Institute’s work. Highly commended in this category were the University of Birmingham for their initiative ‘From the lab to the marketplace – Commercialising Science’ and ‘Venture Matrix 10. Defining, delivering, refining: A decade of embedding enterprise into curriculum and community’ from Sheffield Hallam University.

Enterprise Catalyst Award

The Enterprise Catalyst category, sponsored by SimVenture Business Simulations, recognises an individual who is driving transformational change in enterprise or entrepreneurship education. The winner was Michael Warburton who has acted as a catalyst through innovation in the delivery of Games Development. Michael has engaged with major games companies, schools, universities and the local community and has set up a Gaming Hub in the city. He was nominated by Paul Breheny who said what an excellent ambassador Michael is for Games Development and for FE. Highly commended in this category were Megan Powell-Vreeswijk of Loughborough University and Graham Baty of Northumbria University

EEUK and NCEE would like to congratulate all of the winners and say a big thank you to the sponsors and to everyone who applied for this year’s awards.

For full details regarding this year’s awards please visit